MPS Studio Villingen

 

Well over 1000 recordings have been made in the MPS studio (at the beginning still SABA studio) since the beginning of the 60s. The founder of the studio and record label Hans-Georg Brunner-Schwer (HGBS), co-owner of the well-known radio and TV manufacturer SABA (Schwarzwälder Apparate-Bau-Anstalt since 1918 in Villingen), was himself an enthusiastic hobby pianist. In 1944, at the age of 17, HGBS was called to warning duty at SABA due to nighttime air raid alarms, as Villingen was in the approach path of planes flying air raids over Munich. Jazz music was played over the radio to the American pilots, who targeted HGBS with technical equipment from SABA. So he heard Glenn Miller “In The Mood”, “Moonlight Serenade” or “Sentimental Journey” for the first time – and the foundation stone of Villingen’s jazz history was laid. With the economic miracle comes the great demand for broadcasting equipment. SABA has a competitive advantage, the quality from the Black Forest is well known and the competition fears “Made In The Black Forest”.

 

Tickets & Events

Sorry, No posts.

Studio

 

With about 100m2 of recording space, a separate drum room as well as the spacious control room, the MPS studio has enough space for professional sound recordings. A lounge and tea kitchen/bar round out the studio space, providing an exceptional, welcoming atmosphere in this special historic location. A Bösendorfer Grand Imperial concert grand piano is available for piano recordings. Currently, analog recording on 2-track tape is offered in addition to digital recording. In the foreseeable future, analog recordings with the 24-track Ampex as well as the 4-track Telefunken will be available again.

GuidanceEN

+ Concerts

 

Every year on the Day of the Open Monument, the MPS studio presents itself to the public. There are also other opportunities to visit the studio as part of our events. The association offers guided tours for groups of 12 people or more. For company parties, presentations and other festivities there is a possibility to book the MPS studio for guided tours. Would you like live music or a buffet to go with it? Write us your ideas and we will get back to you. Studio concerts have a tradition in the MPS studio. Jazz, classical, avant-garde, noise. Our audience is very open-minded!

About us

 

The association MPS-Studio e.V. is founded by us in Villingen in 2022. We are a group consisting of cultural workers, art historians, designers, music producers, sound engineers, educators and people from the regional industry. We are united by our love of music, this special historical place and the desire not only to protect and manage this unique monument, but also to make it accessible to the public.

RON MINIS TRIO LIVE

Highlight on 17.3.2023. Trio from Tel Aviv inspires audience. Photo ©Ofir Abe

New website for The MPS Studio

We are pleased to present you the new website for MPS Studio. Here you can find out everything about the studio, events and the club. There are lots of great new...

MPS-Studio Villingen

 

Weit über 1000 Aufnahmen sind seit Beginn der 60er Jahre im MPS-Studio (zu Beginn noch SABA-Studio) entstanden. Der Gründer des Studios und Plattenlabels Hans-Georg Brunner-Schwer (HGBS), Mitbesitzer des bekannten Radio- und TV-Herstellers SABA (Schwarzwälder Apparate-Bau-Anstalt seit 1918 in Villingen), war selbst ein enthusiastischer Hobbypianist. 1944, als 17-Jähriger, wurde HGBS bei SABA aufgrund nächtlichem Luftalarm zum Warndienst dienstverpflichtet, da Villingen in der Einflugschneise der Flugzeuge lag, die über München Luftangriffe flogen. Den amerikanischen Piloten wurde über Funk Jazzmusik gespielt, die HGBS mit technischen Geräten von SABA anpeilte. So hörte er zum ersten Mal Glenn Miller “In The Mood”, “Moonlight Serenade” oder “Sentimental Journey” – und der Grundstein der Villinger Jazzgeschichte war gelegt. Mit dem Wirtschaftswunder kommt die große Nachfrage nach Rundfunkgeräten. SABA hat einen Wettbewerbsvorteil, die Qualität aus dem Schwarzwald ist bekannt und die Konkurrenz fürchtet “Made In The Black Forest”.

 

Tickets & Events

Sorry, No posts.

Studio

 

Mit rund 100m2 Fläche für Aufnahmen, einem separaten Schlagzeug- sowie dem großzügigen Regieraum verfügt das MPS-Studio über genug Platz für professionelle Tonaufnahmen. Ein Aufenthaltsraum und eine Teeküche/Bar runden die Räumlichkeiten des Studios ab und bieten eine außergewöhnliche, gastfreundliche Atmosphäre an diesem besonderen historischen Ort. Für Pianoaufnahmen steht ein Bösendorfer Grand Imperial Konzertflügel, zur Verfügung. Augenblicklich wird neben digitalem Recording auch analoges Aufnehmen auf 2-Spur Tonband angeboten. In absehbarer Zeit sind auch wieder analoge Aufnahmen mit der 24-Spur Ampex sowie der 4-Spur Telefunken im Angebot.

FührungEN

+ Konzerte

 

Jedes Jahr zum Tag des offenen Denkmals präsentiert sich das MPS-Studio der Öffentlichkeit. Auch sonst gibt es im Rahmen unserer Veranstaltungen die Möglichkeit das Studio zu besichtigen. Der Verein bietet für Gruppen ab 12 Personen Führungen an. Für Firmenfeiern, Präsentationen und andere Festivitäten gibt es die Möglichkeit das MPS-Studio für Führungen zu buchen. Möchten Sie dazu Livemusik oder ein Buffet? Schreiben Sie uns ihre Ideen und wir melden uns. Studiokonzerte haben eine Tradition im MPS-Studio. Jazz, Klassik, Avantgarde, Noise. Unser Publikum ist sehr aufgeschlossen! 

Über uns

 

Der Verein MPS-Studio e.V. wird von uns 2022 in Villingen gegründet. Wir sind eine Gruppe bestehend aus Kulturschaffenden, Kunsthistorikerinnen, Designer, Musikproduzenten, Tontechniker, PädagogInnen und Menschen aus der regionalen Industrie. Uns verbindet die Liebe zur Musik, zu diesem besonderen historischen Ort und der Wunsch, dieses einzigartige Denkmal nicht nur zu schützen und zu verwalten, sondern es auch der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.

RON MINIS TRIO LIVE

Highlight am 17.3.2023. Trio aus Tel Aviv begeistert Publikum. Foto ©Ofir Abe

Neue Website für Das MPS Studio

Wir freuen uns Ihnen die neue Website für das MPS Studio zu präsentieren. Hier erfahren Sie alles zum Studio, zu den Veranstaltungen und zum Verein. Für die Zukunft...

RON MINIS TRIO LIVE

Highlight am 17.3.2023. Trio aus Tel Aviv begeistert Publikum. Foto ©Ofir Abe

Neue Website für Das MPS Studio

Wir freuen uns Ihnen die neue Website für das MPS Studio zu präsentieren. Hier erfahren Sie alles zum Studio, zu den Veranstaltungen und zum Verein. Für die Zukunft...