Studio

The MPS studio is a living monument. The first-class sound of the rooms and recording technology have earned this historic venue a legendary reputation worldwide, not only in the field of jazz, but also classical, world music and avant-garde.

Like the stars

Many international musicians* have made top-class recordings in this studio: Bill Evans, Oscar Peterson, Joachim Kühn, Lee Konitz, Friedrich Gulda, George Duke, Singers Unlimited, Dave Pike Set, Hans Koller, Cecil Taylor, Albert Mangelsdorff, Mark Murphy, Volker Kriegel, Jean Luc-Ponty, Baden Powell, John Taylor, Wolfgang Dauner, Charly Antolini and many others.

 

Most Perfect sound

With a lot of space in the recording room for studio productions and a separate drum room, the MPS studio has enough space for professional sound recordings. The large control room still houses the analog studio equipment as well as the possibility of digital recording. A lounge area and a tea kitchen/bar round off the studio’s facilities and offer an exceptional, welcoming atmosphere in this special historical location.

 

Bösendorfer Grand Imperial

For exclusive piano recordings, the legendary Bösendorfer Grand Imperial concert grand piano has been available since 1977, producing a great expressionistic sound. Chosen personally by Friedrich Gulda, it was not at all easy to get the instrument, which weighed over half a ton, into the studio; parts of the staircase had to be dismantled for it. The Grand Imperial has 5 additional keys and quite a deep sound spectrum. Whoever was allowed to play or hear this grand piano will not forget it. Monty Alexander or Cecil Taylor were also among those chosen.

 

From analog to digital

Currently, analog recording on 2-track tape “direct-to-tape” is offered in addition to digital recording. In this regard, we work with a selection of sound engineers who perform their craft with love and passion, analog and digital.

A large selection of new as well as historical microphones (Neumann and others) leave nothing to be desired.

In the foreseeable future, analog recordings with the 24-track Ampex, as well as 4-track Telefunken will be available again.

The analog mixing console is an in-house production of SABA and with its Sitral cassette technology designed for 24 tracks. Only 2 of these were built. One mixer went to Baden-Baden to Südwestfunk, the other crowns the control room of the MPS studio.

 

RESTAURATION

Our technical team is coordinated by a graduate engineer from Kreuzlingen. Together with the municipal office for the preservation of historical monuments in Villingen-Schwenningen, as well as the state authorities in Freiburg and Stuttgart, we are developing a concept for an authentic restoration and general overhaul of our analog equipment. In addition, cooperation with universities is planned.

 

Inquiries

New Field

11 + 11 =

IN OWNER MPS-STUDIO e.V.

Again and again we are asked if we have something to do with the festival “Jazzin’ The Black Forest” or the company “HGBS Blue”/”Black Forest Sounds”. The answer is no.

QUEHENBERGER + KERN

Extremely exciting improvisation from Vienna. The whole thing in the blood. The boundaries are fluid.

CITY HIGH 2

A recommendable blog from Villingen-Schwenningen.

Review

We have compiled here some photos from our first season November 2022 – July 2023.

Studio

Das MPS-Studio ist ein lebendiges Denkmal. Der erstklassige Klang der Räume und Aufnahmetechnik haben diesem historischen Ort einen weltweit legendären Ruf eingebracht, nicht nur im Bereich Jazz, sondern auch Klassik, Weltmusik und Avantgarde.

Like the stars

Viele internationale Musiker*innen haben in diesem Studio hochkarätige Aufnahmen gemacht: Bill Evans, Oscar Peterson, Joachim Kühn, Lee Konitz, Friedrich Gulda, George Duke, Singers Unlimited, Dave Pike Set, Hans Koller, Cecil Taylor, Albert Mangelsdorff, Mark Murphy, Volker Kriegel, Jean Luc-Ponty, Baden Powell, John Taylor, Wolfgang Dauner, Charly Antolini und viele andere.

 

Most Perfect sound

Mit sehr viel Platz im Aufnahmeraum für Studioproduktionen und einem separaten Schlagzeugraum verfügt das MPS-Studio über genug Fläche für professionelle Tonaufnahmen. Der große Regieraum beherbergt nach wie vor die analoge Studiotechnik wie auch die Möglichkeit der digitalen Aufnahme. Ein Aufenthaltsbereich und eine Teeküche/Bar runden die Räumlichkeiten des Studios ab und bieten eine außergewöhnliche, gastfreundliche Atmosphäre an diesem besonderen historischen Ort.

 

Bösendorfer Grand Imperial

Für exklusive Pianoaufnahmen steht seit 1977 der legendäre Bösendorfer Grand Imperial Konzertflügel zur Verfügung, der einen tollen expressionistischen Klang erzeugt. Von Friedrich Gulda persönlich ausgesucht, war es überhaupt nicht einfach das über eine halbe Tonne schwere Instrument ins Studio zu bekommen. Teile des Treppenhauses mussten dafür abgebaut werden. Der Grand Imperial verfügt über 5 zusätzliche Tasten und ein ganz tiefes Klangspektrum. Wer diesen Flügel spielen oder hören durfte wird es nicht vergessen. Monty Alexander oder Cecil Taylor gehörten auch zu den Auserwählten.

 

Von analog bis digital

Augenblicklich wird neben digitalem Recording auch analoges Aufnehmen auf 2-Spur Tonband “direct-to-tape” angeboten. Diesbezüglich arbeiten wir mit einer Auswahl an Tontechniker:innen, die ihr Handwerk mit Liebe und Leidenschaft verrichten, analog wie digital. 

Eine große Auswahl an neuen wie auch historischen Mikrofonen (Neumann und andere)  lassen keine Wünsche offen.

In absehbarer Zeit sind auch wieder analoge Aufnahmen mit der 24-Spur Ampex, sowie 4-Spur Telefunken im Angebot.

Das analoge Mischpult ist eine Eigenanfertigung von SABA und mit seiner Sitral-Kassettentechnik auf 24 Spuren ausgelegt. Davon wurden lediglich 2 Exemplare gebaut. Ein Mischpult ging nach Baden-Baden zum Südwestfunk, der andere krönt den Regieraum des MPS-Studios.

 

RESTAURIERUNG

Unser Technikteam wird von einem Diplom-Ingenieur aus Kreuzlingen koordiniert. Zusammen mit dem städtischen Denkmalamt Villingen-Schwenningen, sowie den Landesbehörden Freiburg und Stuttgart entwickeln wir ein Konzept für eine authentische Restaurierung und Generalüberholung unserer analogen Gerätschaften. Darüberhinaus sind Kooperationen mit Hochschulen geplant.

 

Anfragen

Neues Feld

2 + 14 =

STADT HOCH 2

Ein empfehlenswerter Blog aus Villingen-Schwenningen.

IN EIGENER SACHE MPS-STUDIO e.V.

Immer wieder werden wir gefragt ob wir etwas mit dem Festival „Jazzin‘ The Black Forest“ oder der Firma „HGBS Blue“/„Black Forest Sounds“ zu schaffen haben. Die Antwort lautet Nein.

Rückblick

Wir haben hier einige Fotos aus unserer ersten Spielzeit November 2022 – Juli 2023 zusammengestellt.

RON MINIS TRIO LIVE

Highlight am 17.3.2023. Trio aus Tel Aviv begeistert Publikum. Foto ©Ofir Abe